A Daily Meditation from Carolyn Myss

(from Anatomy of the Spirit: The Seven Stages of Power and Healing by Caroline Myss)

as a daily act of meditation, draw your attention consciously into each of your chakras, beginning with the first and working your way up....Proceed through the chakras, focusing in the following ways:


lessons related to the material world
Chakra: Muladhara
Sacrament: Baptism
Sefirah: Shekhinah; Gaia; Creation
Truth: All is One.

For chakra one, focus on the energy of the sefirah of Shekhinah, and feel yourself connected to all of life. Then focus on the symbolic meaning of the sacrament of Baptism, and bless the life you have agreed to live, and the family, both personal and extended, that makes up your life.


Power and Partnership
lessons related to sexuality, work, physical desire
Chakra: Svadisthana
Sefirah: Yesod: Foundation
Truth: Honor One Another.

For chakra two, focus on the energy of the sefirah of Yesod, and sense the energy you have released from this area of your body into acts of creation. If your energy is contaminated—filled with negativity and fear—reexamine your intention.

Bring into your mind the energy of the sacrament of Communion: see each person in your life as having a Divine purpose. Wherever you cannot see that Divinity clearly, ask for the energy to see through the illusions that are controlling you.


Self and Personal Power
lessons of ego, personality, self-esteem
Sefirot:Hod and Nezah; Majesty and Endurance
Truth Honor Oneself.

For chakra three, focus on the energy of the sefirot of Nezah and Hod, integrity and endurance. Evaluate your own code of behavior and whether you have compromised your honor in any way. If so, meditate on the significance of honor, and ask for assistance in maintaining your personal standards. Then bring into your mind the energy of the sacrament of Confirmation, a commitment to yourself to honor your own dignity.


Love and Emotional Power
lessons of love, forgiveness, compassion
Chakra: Anahata
Sacrament: Marriage
Sefirot: Tif'eret; Beauty
Truth: Love is Divine Power.

For chakra four, focus on the energy of the sefirah of Tif'eret and the energy of love and compassion. Evaluate how well you extend love to others as well as to yourself, including the loving energy contained within acts of forgiveness.

Then focus on the care you give yourself and how well you honor your symbolic vow of the sacrament of Marriage to yourself.


Will and Willpower
lessons of will and self-expression
Chakra: Vishuddha
Sacrament: Confession
Sefirot: Gevurah and Hesed; Judgment and Mercy
Truth: Surrender Personal Will to Divine Will.

For chakra five, focus on the energy of the sefirot of Hesed and Gevurah, mercy and judgment, and evaluate the quality of the thoughts you are holding about other people, as well as yourself. Evaluate the words you have shared with others, and if you have expressed harmful words, send positive energy to those people. If you have expressed false words, consciously acknowledge that you have acted to deceive others, and examine the fear that exists within you, from which deceitful actions emerge. This is utilizing the energy of the sacrament of Confession. Ask the Light to enter that fear and give you the courage not to act in that negative pattern again.


lessons of mind, intuition, insight, and wisdom
Chakra: Ajna
Sacrament: Ordination
Sefirot: Binah and Hokhmah; Understanding and Wisdom
Truth: Seek Only the Truth.

For chakra six, focus on the energy of the sefirot of Hokhmah and Binah, Divine wisdom and understanding, and continue to evaluate your daily life. Request wisdom and insight for the situations in which you feel confused or frightened. And remind yourself of the promise of the sacrament of Ordination: that each of us has a special gift to give to this life and that each of us is inevitably led to that path. It is impossible to miss our life's purpose.


Sense of Oneness of All Creation; Transcendence; Higher Love;Spirit
lessons of spirituality
Chakra: Sahasrara
Sacrament: Extreme Unction
Sefirah: Keter; Crown
Truth: Live in the Present Moment.

For chakra seven, focus on the energy of the sefirah of Keter, your contact with the Divine, and the sacrament of Extreme Unction, consciously completing and releasing your unfinished business. Allow the energy of God to enter into your mind, body, and spirit, and breathe that energy into your being.

The information here is abstracted from Caroline Myss, Anatomy of the Spirit: The Seven Stages of Power and Healing (New York, NY: Harmony Books, 1996), pp. 288-90 [with interpolated information from Myss' presentation of Human Energy System Correspondences elsewhere in the book].

The chakra images are from Swami Sivananda Radha, Kundalina Yoga for the West (Boulder, CO: Shambhala, 1981).

For further information on Carolyn Myss and her works, see her Web site.

See also Learning Symbolic Sight.

Kay's Spirit Page     Kay's Home Page
Disclaimer and Credits

Last modified on February 7, 2005 by Kay Keys (kay@kaykeys.net)